eToro: Review and expert knowledge

eToro is a reliable CFD-broker and one of the pioneers when it comes to social trading. Though eToro is well respected for its liability, the broker and its offers were once again closely examined. The results can be found in the following test review.

Important facts about eToro

The broker’s aim is to allow every trader the easiest CFD-trading available – whether or not the trader is a beginner, advanced or a pro. Back in 2007 eToro Ltd. was founded on Cyprus and was also one of the first brokers which was able to link trading and social media. Meanwhile eToro is one of the world’s most renowned social-trading-companies and has around six million traders using its online platform.

eToro: Security and regulations

eToro is governed by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) of Cyprus and owns license number 109/210. Additional security is offered through the fact that Cyprus is a member state of the European Union and hence the company automatically has to comply with the EU-trading market regulations as outlined in the Financial Instruments Directive (MiFiD). On top of that eToro is also registered as a cross-border service provider with the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin). All these facts contribute to the integrity of the broker.

eToro and its trading platform

This trading platform is not only available as a desktop version but also a web based version. Therefore, you neither need to download nor install any software. Thanks to the neatly arranged trading interface everyone finds his or her way around easily. On a positive note especially, the charts as well as the different features and community tools shall also be mentioned. The community manager is a special tool which excessively supports new traders.

As eToro’s trading platform is web based it can also be accessed from a smartphone or tablet without any issues. Additionally, eToro also offers an app for iOs and Android devices.

Which assets can be traded at eToro?

Traders can choose between a broad variety of assets they would like to trade and invest at eToro. Financial instruments are available in the following categories:

  • Stocks
  • Currencies
  • Indexes
  • Commodities
  • ETFs

Characteristic features of trading crypto currencies

At eToro you may also trade the following digital currencies:

  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Bitcoin Cash (BCH)
  • Ethereum (ETH)
  • Ethereum Classic (ETC)
  • Ripple (XRP)
  • Litecoin (LTC)
  • Dash (DASH)

As digital currencies are traded at special stock markets, eToro levies a fee resp. charges an addition of up to 5 percent of the amount invested. Hence these additions are slightly higher than the ones for other assets, but as crypto currencies are very popular at the moment and demonstrate an impressing performance, trading them may be well worth it.

Spreads, fees, margin, and reserve liability

You can find a list of all applicable fees and spreads on the homepage of eToro. For example, stocks can be traded starting at 9 pips and currencies can be traded starting at 3 pips. There is no fee for opening a position only for closing it. It shall also be noted that the minimum value for a position is 1,000 units of currency (micro lots). The safety margin is handled differently but remains within the common expectations.

In general trading CFDs is connected to a reserve liability. This means that if the deposited margin is insufficient in case of a loss, eToro may demand the trader to settle the trading account. Therefore, this option shall be used carefully in case unpredictable events lead to severe market vacillations – even though many trading accounts may be set back to zero out of courtesy. However, those who act recklessly may expect that eToro reserves its right of reserve liability.

Important features: Stop Loss and Take Profit

In order to minimize risks, traders at eToro may use the following features:

  • Stop Loss: A stop-loss-order is only available during sales (limited form). As soon as a predetermined value is reached or exceeded, the sale is automatically initiated.
  • Take Profit: The take-profit-function is also used to increase security and safety. Traders may choose a specific amount of money which shall be earned during trading. As soon as this value is reached, the position is automatically closed.

Social Trading at eToro

eToro’s social network is called OpenBook. Here traders can find many different versions of social trading. With the help of basic functions traders can check out the live feeds of other traders as well as their trading strategies and concepts. While some traders prefer short-term strategies, some other traders may be into long-term investments. Additionally, traders can choose more experienced traders. At eToro those professional traders are referred to as “gurus”. You can use different search options and rankings, in order to find the most suitable guru. As soon as you’ve decided on one or more gurus, you can copy their trading patterns. This means that social trading is, especially for newbies, a perfect alternative to classical trading.

Opening an account/minimum deposit and deposits/withdrawals

A trading account can be opened for free. In order to start trading however you need to pay at least 100 Euro into your trading account. Different deposit methods are available, e.g. credit cards, GiroPay, Paypal, Skrill, and Neteller. There is no fee for depositing money.

In order to withdraw money, your account balance needs to be at least 50 USD. The withdrawal fee depends on the amount you want to withdraw and is limited to 25 USD per withdrawal request. You should also note that prior to withdrawing money, you need to comply with the verification procedure to prevent money laundering; to do so, eToro’s customers need to submit several documents (e.g. copy of your ID card). After your documents have been evaluated, your trading account will be available for withdrawals.

Customer support and practice accounts

eToro’s customer support can be reached Monday through Friday via live-chat, mail, as well as via phone. Random checks have shown that the employees at eToro are always friendly and willing to help.

As a special service eToro offers its customers a free practice account which is already loaded with play money. This way traders can become familiar with the trading business and play around without any financial risks.

On top of that eToro also offers an extensive training program presented in the format of training videos, tutorials, and live webinars. The FAQ section is also very diverse and with the help of the search options eToro’s customers can easily and fast find what they are looking for.

Advantages and disadvantages of eToro at a glance

Here’s a summary of eToro’s advantages and disadvantages at a glance:

  • Broker regulated through CySEC/registered with the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin)
  • Website completely available in German
  • Classic CFD-trading as well as social trading
  • Minimum deposit: 100 Euro
  • Practice account as well as lots of practice materials
  • Lots of different tradable assets; as well as digital currencies
  • Low spreads/margins
  • No commissions or provisions
  • Mobile trading available
  • Withdrawal fees

Final review on eToro

There is a reason why eToro is one of the most popular brokers and social trading providers as the accessibility is easy and the conditions are perfect. It is extremely positive that the minimum deposit is just 100 Euro and that the traders can choose from many different assets. These assets also include the popular digital currencies, such as Bitcoin, Ethereum & co. It is also an advantage that especially unexperienced traders can take advantage of eToro’s free practice account as well as the vast variety of training materials. In conclusion it is not surprising that this review of eToro was extremely positive: eToro is a reputable and competent broker which totally impresses with its trading offers.

Wichtige Fakten über eToro

etoro1

eToro ist einer der Pioniere im Social-Trading und ein zuverlässiger CFD-Broker. Obwohl eToro bekannt ist für seine Seriosität, wurde der Broker mit seinen Angeboten noch einmal genau unter die Lupe genommen. Die Ergebnisse gibt es im folgenden Testbericht.

Der Broker verfolgt das Ziel, jedem Anleger – und zwar egal, ob Einsteiger, Fortgeschrittener oder Profi – den CFD-Handel so einfach wie möglich zu machen. Gegründet wurde das Unternehmen eToro Europe Ltd. auf Zypern wurde im Jahr 2007 gegründet und war einer der ersten Broker, der zwischen dem Trading und sozialen Medien eine Verbindung geschaffen hat. Inzwischen gehört eToro zu den weltweit bekanntesten Social-Trading-Anbietern und kann rund sechs Millionen Trader auf seiner Online-Plattform vorweisen.


Vorteile
  • Trade ab 25€
  • größtes Investment-Netzwerk
  • Trader in Echtzeit kopieren
  • Moderate Spreads
  • Angebot aus 200 Aktien usw.
10.000
Zufriedene Kunden

eToro – So funktionierts:

Vorteile
  • Mit 4,5 Millionen Nutzern international das größte Investment-Netzwerk
  • Handelsangebot aus 200 Basiswerten: Rohstoffe, Aktien, Indizes, Devisen sowie ETFs
  • Moderate Spreads: Apple 0,8 Pips, GER30 1 Pip, EUR/USD 3 Pips
  • Trader vollautomatisch kopieren in Echtzeit
  • 200 Euro Mindesteinzahlung, ab 25 Euro je Trade

eToro: Sicherheit und Regulierung

eToro wird von Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) von Zypern reguliert und führt die Lizenz 109/210. Zusätzliche Sicherheit bietet die Tatsache, dass Zypern ein Mitgliedsstaat der Europäischen Union ist und somit das Unternehmen automatisch den EU-Richtlinien der Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFiD) unterliegt. Außerdem ist eToro auch als grenzüberschreitender Dienstleister bei der deutschen Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungen (BaFin) registriert. All dies bestätigt die Seriosität des Brokers.

trust

eToro und seine Handelsplattform

Die Handelsplattform steht nicht nur als Desktop-Version, sondern auch als webbasierte Variante zur Verfügung. Somit sind der Download und die Installation einer Software nicht erforderlich. Dank der übersichtlich gestalteten Handelsoberfläche findet sich hier jeder schnell zurück. Positiv zu bewerten sind vor allem die Chart und ihre verschiedenen Funktionen sowie die Community-Tools. Eine Besonderheit stellt der Community-Manager dar, der unerfahrene Trader umfangreich unterstützt.

Da die Handelsplattform von eToro webbasiert ist, kann sie auch auf dem Smartphone oder Tablet ohne Probleme genutzt werden. Zusätzlich bietet eToro noch eine App für iOS- und Android-Endgeräte an.

Welche Assets können bei eToro gehandelt werden?

Bei eToro haben Anleger die Auswahl zwischen einer Vielzahl an Vermögenswerten zum Traden und Investieren. Verfügbar sind Finanzinstrumente in den folgenden Kategorien:

  • Aktien
  • Währungen
  • Indizes
  • Rohstoffe
  • ETFs

Besonderheiten beim Handeln mit Kryptowährungen

Bei eToro können auch die folgenden digitalen Währungen gehandelt werden:

  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Bitcoin Cash (BCH)
  • Ethereum (ETH)
  • Ethereum Classic (ETC)
  • Ripple (XRP)
  • Litecoin (LTC)
  • Dash (DASH)

Da digitale Währungen auf speziellen Börsen gehandelt werden, erhebt eToro eine Gebühr bzw. wird ein Aufschlag von bis zu 5 Prozent des Anlagebetrages berechnet. Damit liegen die Aufschläge zwar etwas höher über denen für andere Vermögenswerte, da Kryptowährungen aber aktuell sehr beliebt sind und eine beeindruckende Performance aufweisen, lohnt sich der Handel mit diesen.


#1 Testsieger

Gesamtbewertung:
Gratis Demokonto
JA


Spreads, Gebühren, Margin und Nachschusspflicht

Auf der Homepage von eToro findet sich eine Auflistung aller anfallenden Gebühren und Spreads. So können beispielsweise Aktien ab 8 Pips und Währungen ab 3 Pips gehandelt werden. Für die Eröffnung einer Position fallen keine Gebühren an, lediglich für das Schließen einer Position. Erwähnenswert ist auch, dass die minimale Positionsgrößte bei 1.000 Währungseinheiten (Mikro-Lots) liegt. Die Sicherheitsleistung (Margin) fällt unterschiedlich hoch aus, liegt aber noch völlig im üblichen Rahmen.

Grundsätzlich ist der Handel mit CFDs mit einer Nachschusspflicht verbunden. Wenn also die hinterlegte Sicherheitsleistung im Verlustfall nicht ausreicht, kann eToro verlangen, dass das Handelskonto ausgeglichen wird. Hier ist also äußerste Vorsicht geboten, auch wenn häufig das Handelskonto aus Kulanz auf null zurückgestellt wird, falls unvorhersehbare Ereignisse zu enorm starken Marktschwankungen führen. Wer jedoch grob fahrlässig handelt, muss damit rechnen, dass eToro von der Nachschusspflicht Gebraucht macht.

Wichtige Funktionen: Stop Loss und Take Profit

Um das Risiko zu reduzieren, können Anleger bei eToro die folgenden Funktionen nutzen:

  • Stop Loss: Eine Stop-Loss-Order gilt lediglich beim Verkaufen (Limit-Form). Sobald ein im Vorhinein festgelegter Kurs erreicht oder unterschritten wird, wird automatisch der Verkauf eingeleitet.
  • Take Profit: Auch die Funktion Take Profit dient als Sicherheitsnetz. Anleger können hiermit einen exakten Geldbetrag festlegen, der beim Handeln verdient werden soll. Ist dieser Punkt erreicht, schließt die Position automatisch.

Social Trading bei eToro

Das soziale Netzwerk von eToro nennt sich OpenBook. Hier finden Anleger unterschiedliche Varianten des Social Tradings. Mithilfe der Basisfunktion können Anleger die Livefeeds von anderen Händlern sowie deren Handelskonzepte und Handelsstrategien ansehen. Während einige Händler eher kurzfristige Strategien fahren, bevorzugen andere Händler längerfristige Investitionen. Außerdem können Anleger erfahrene Händler auswählen. Diese Profis werden bei eToro als „Gurus“ bezeichnet. Um den geeigneten Guru zu finden, stehen unterschiedliche Suchfunktionen und Rankings zur Verfügung. Hat sich der Anleger für einen oder mehrere Gurus entschieden, kann er diese kopieren. Somit stellt das Social Trading gerade für Anfänger eine hervorragende Alternative zum klassischen Handel dar.

Kontoeröffnung/Mindesteinzahlung und Ein-/Auszahlungen

Das Eröffnen eines Handelskontos ist kostenlos. Um mit dem Trading beginnen zu können, müssen mindestens 100 Euro auf das Handelskonto eingezahlt werden. Hierfür stehen unterschiedliche Zahlungsmethoden zur Auswahl wie Kreditkarte, GiroPay, Paypal, Skrill und Neteller. Einzahlungsgebühren werden nicht erhoben.

Für eine Geldabhebung beträgt der Mindestbetrag 50 USD. Hier fallen jedoch je nach Höhe des Auszahlungsbetrages Gebühren von maximal 25 USD pro Abhebung an. Zu beachten ist außerdem, dass vor einer Auszahlung das Verifizierungsverfahren gemäß dem Anti-Geldwäsche-Gesetz durchgeführt werden muss, wofür Kunden von eToro unterschiedliche Unterlagen (z. B. Kopie des Personalausweises) einreichen müssen. Nach Prüfung der Unterlagen wird das Handelskonto für Auszahlungen freigeschaltet.

Kundenservice und Demokonto

Der Kundensupport von eToro ist via Live-Chat, über Mail als auch telefonisch von montags bis freitags erreichbar. Stichprobenhafte Kontrollen haben gezeigt, dass die Mitarbeiter von eToro stets freundlich und hilfsbereit waren.

Als besonderen Service bietet eToro seinen Anlegern ein kostenloses Demokonto an, das mit Spielgeld ausgestattet wird. Hiermit können Anleger das Tradinggeschäft kennenlernen und ausprobieren, ohne dafür finanzielle Risiken einzugehen.

Darüber hinaus bietet eToro auch ein umfangreiches Bildungsangebot in Form von Lernvideos, Tutorials und Live-Webinaren. Auch der FAQ-Bereich ist sehr umfangreich ausgestattet und mithilfe einer Suchfunktion finden Kunden von eToro schnell das gewünschte Thema.


Vorteile
  • Trade ab 25€
  • größtes Investment-Netzwerk
  • Trader in Echtzeit kopieren
  • Moderate Spreads
  • Angebot aus 200 Aktien usw.
10.000
Zufriedene Kunden

Vor- und Nachteile von eToro auf einen Blick

Hier noch einmal zusammengefasst alle Vor- und Nachteile von eToro auf einen Blick:

  • regulierter Broker durch die CySEC/Registrierung bei der BaFin
  • Webseite komplett auf Deutsch
  • klassischer CFD-Handel und Social Trading
  • 100 Euro Mindesteinzahlung
  • Demokonto sowie umfangreiches Lernmaterial
  • zahlreiche handelbare Vermögenswerte; darunter auch digitale Währungen
  • niedrige Spreads/geringe Margin
  • keine Provision oder Kommission
  • mobiler Handel möglich
  • freundlicher Kundenservice
  • Auszahlungsgebühren

Bewertung von eToro

Nicht ohne Grund gehört eToro zu den beliebtesten Brokern und Social-Trading-Anbietern, denn die Zugangshürden sind gering und die Konditionen hervorragend. Positiv wird insbesondere bewertet, dass die Mindesteinzahlung lediglich 100 Euro beträgt und dass den Tradern zahlreiche Vermögenswerte zur Auswahl stehen. Hierunter finden sich auch die beliebten digitalen Währungen wie Bitcoin, Ethereum & Co. Von Vorteil ist außerdem, gerade für unerfahrene Trader, dass eToro ein kostenlos Demokonto sowie umfangreiche Lernmaterialien zur Verfügung stellt. Somit fällt die Bewertung von eToro äußerst gut aus: eToro ist ein seriöser und kompetenter Broker, der mit seinem Handelsangebot voll und ganz überzeugen kann.


#1 Testsieger

Gesamtbewertung:
Gratis Demokonto
JA